Volume VIII - The Energy Infrastructure Policy of the European Union

  • ISBN / ISSN: 9789491673047
  • Availability: In Stock

Available Options


Infrastructures are the backbone of any economy and energy is vital to our way of life. Electricity transmission, gas and oil pipelines, smart grids, storage of energy and later on CO2 transport are essential elements of our present and future energy systems. The energy and climate policies conducted by the European Union since 2007 have led to the third energy package governing the internal electricity and gas markets, to the directive setting the target of 20% of renewable sources of energy by 2020, to the energy efficiency directive and most recently to the regulation establishing the guidelines on trans-European energy infrastructures and to the new financing programme called "Connecting Europe Facility". In five years' time, national energy policies have been drastically reshaped by the EU directives and regulations, now based on Article 194 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union. It is now time to understand fully the importance of these regulatory changes and the resulting "europeanisation" of the energy policy.

Edited by
Jean Arnold Vinois Former Acting Director, Internal Energy Market Directorate, DG ENER, EC

Written by
Stephan Kamphues
President, ENTSOG
Valérie Lorgé
Programme manager, Unit Internal Market III: retail market, DG ENER
Jesus Mendiola
Irina Minciuna
Arthur Henriot
Research Assistant, Florence School of Regulation, European University Institute
Daniel Dobbeni
President, ENTSO-E
Jan Panek
Head of Unit, Internal Market III: Retail Markets; coal & oil, DG ENER
Inge Bernaerts
Head of Unit, Internal Market II: Wholesale markets; electricity and gas, DG ENER
Bart Castermans
Milosz Momot
Programme Officer, Unit Internal Market I: networks and regional initiatives, DG ENER
Vittorio Musazzi
Director General, ENTSOG
Kitti Nyitrai
Programme Officer, DG ENER
Jan Panek
Head of Unit, Internal Market III: Retail Markets; coal & oil, DG ENER
Alberto Potoschnig
Director, ACER
Manuel Sanchez Jimenez
Programme Officer, DG Energy, European Commission
Nabi Siefken
Programme Officer, DG Energy, European Commission
Catharina Sikow-Magny
Head of Unit, Internal Market I: Networks & Regional Initiatives, DG ENER
Konstantin Staschus
Secretary General, ENTSO-E
Alain P. Steven
Secretary General, GO15
Jean Verseille
Director European Affairs, RTE
Jean-Arnold Vinois
Former Acting Director, Security of Supply, Energy Markets and Networks, DG ENER
Monika Zsigri
Policy Coordinator, Internal Market I: Network & Regional Initiatives, DG ENER, EC


ISBN 9789491673047
ISBN ebook 9789491673337
Publication Date February 2014
Nr of Pages 575